Key Takeaways
- •There are exactly two published studies of BPC-157 in dogs, and both are safety or pharmacokinetics. Zero controlled efficacy trials in dogs have been published, in any indication.
- •The dosing charts on pet websites disagree with each other by more than 20-fold, and none of them traces to a canine study. For a 25 kg dog the published figures run from 50 µg to 1,100 µg per administration.
- •The rodent studies they claim to extrapolate from tested doses spanning a million-fold range and reported all of them as effective, which means there is no dose-response curve available to scale from.
- •Intramuscular bioavailability in beagles is roughly 45 to 51%, measured properly (He et al., 2022). Oral and subcutaneous absorption in dogs has never been measured at all, which is a problem, because oral capsules are what most pet products sell.
- •The newest head-to-head study found the BPC-157 plus TB-500 combination gave no additional benefit over either peptide alone, and BPC-157 alone missed statistical significance on the primary histology scores (Biçer et al., 2026).
- •BPC-157 is approved for no use in any animal or human, anywhere. The FDA flagged it over immunogenicity and impurity concerns, and USADA states there is "no legal basis to include BPC-157 in any compounded medication."
Go through the published BPC-157 literature looking for studies that involved dogs, and you find two.
Not two hundred. Two. One is a toxicology study that gave the peptide to beagles for four weeks and watched their bloodwork. The other is a pharmacokinetic study that injected beagles and measured how fast the peptide disappeared. Neither one asks whether BPC-157 heals anything in a dog. Neither involves an injured dog, a torn ligament, an inflamed gut, or an outcome a dog owner would recognise.
Everything else written about BPC 157 for dogs, including the benefits, the timelines, and every dosing chart in circulation, is extrapolated from rats.
That is not a reason to dismiss the compound. Rodent data is how almost every drug begins, and BPC-157's rodent literature is larger and more consistent than most research peptides can claim. It is a reason to be precise about what is known, because the gap between "there is interesting animal research" and "this helps dogs" is where pet owners are currently being sold things. This is an evidence review, not a protocol. Everything Volta supplies is for laboratory research use only, and nothing here is veterinary advice.
What BPC-157 actually is
BPC-157 is a synthetic chain of 15 amino acids, sequence GEPPPGKPADDAGLV, molecular weight 1419. It corresponds to a fragment of a protein found in human gastric juice, which is where the "body protection compound" name comes from.
| Property | Value |
|---|---|
| Sequence | GEPPPGKPADDAGLV |
| Length | 15 residues (a pentadecapeptide) |
| Molecular weight | ~1419 Da |
| Plasma half-life | Under 30 minutes (rats and beagles) |
| IM bioavailability | ~14 to 19% in rats, ~45 to 51% in beagles |
| Elimination | Urine and bile, after breakdown to amino acids |
| Approval status | None, in any species, in any country |
Two of those rows deserve attention. The half-life is under half an hour, and yet the biological effects reported in animal studies persist for hours to days. Mateescu et al. described this in 2026 as a "pharmacokinetic-pharmacodynamic disconnect," and it is unresolved. A compound that is gone from the blood before lunch but reportedly still acting the next day is either working through a mechanism nobody has characterised, or some of the reported effects are not what they appear to be. Both possibilities matter, and neither is settled.
The two canine studies, in full
This is the entire published canine record. Both papers come from the same Chinese military medical university group that has been developing BPC-157 toward a human clinical programme.
| Study | What it did | What it found | What it did not test |
|---|---|---|---|
| Xu et al., 2020, Regul Toxicol Pharmacol | Single-dose and repeated-dose toxicity in mice, rats, rabbits and dogs; local tolerance; genotoxicity; embryo-fetal toxicity | Well tolerated in dogs. No abnormal findings versus vehicle control, except a fall in creatinine at 2 mg/kg that did not occur at lower doses and reversed within two weeks of withdrawal. Irritation at the injection site was mild. No genetic or embryo-fetal toxicity | Any measure of healing, in any tissue, in any species |
| He et al., 2022, Front Pharmacol | Pharmacokinetics, distribution, metabolism and excretion after IV and IM dosing in rats and beagle dogs, using tritium-labelled peptide | Half-life under 30 minutes. Linear kinetics across all doses. IM absolute bioavailability ~45 to 51% in beagles, ~14 to 19% in rats. Cleared via urine and bile after rapid breakdown into small fragments and free amino acids | Any measure of healing. Oral dosing. Subcutaneous dosing |
Read those two "what it did not test" cells together and the position is clear. The canine literature tells you that a specific IM dose reaches the bloodstream at a predictable rate and does not obviously harm a healthy beagle over four weeks. It tells you nothing about whether it does anything useful to an injured one.
It is worth being fair to these papers. They are good studies, properly conducted, and the pharmacokinetic work in particular is more rigorous than most of what exists for this compound. They are simply not what they are routinely cited as being.
Where the benefit claims come from
The claims made for dogs, faster tendon repair, better ligament healing, gut protection, come from a rodent literature that is genuinely substantial. Most of it originates with one research group at the University of Zagreb, a concentration that is itself worth knowing about.
| Study | Model | Finding |
|---|---|---|
| Staresinic et al., 2003, J Orthop Res | Transected rat Achilles tendon | Improved load to failure, Young's modulus, functional index and collagen formation versus saline |
| Krivic et al., 2006, J Orthop Res | Rat Achilles detachment from bone | Promoted tendon-to-bone healing; opposed corticosteroid-induced impairment |
| Cerovecki et al., 2010, J Orthop Res | Rat medial collateral ligament transection | Functional, biomechanical and histological improvement over 90 days, by IP, topical and oral routes |
| Chang et al., 2011, J Appl Physiol | Cultured tendon explants and fibroblasts | Increased tendon outgrowth, cell survival and cell migration |
| Chang et al., 2014, Molecules | Tendon fibroblasts | Increased growth hormone receptor expression |
| Biçer et al., 2026, Jt Dis Relat Surg | Rat Achilles transection and repair, 32 rats, 4 arms | See the combination section below |
The proposed mechanism across this work is reasonably coherent: BPC-157 appears to promote angiogenesis through VEGFR2 and the Akt-eNOS nitric oxide pathway, to support fibroblast activity and collagen organisation, and to dampen inflammatory signalling. McGuire et al. summarised this in 2025 and noted it is most plausible in poorly vascularised tissue such as tendon, which is exactly where the orthopaedic interest sits.
The two independent reviews published in 2025 give the fairest summary available:
- Vasireddi et al. screened 544 articles and included 36. Of those, 35 were preclinical and one was clinical, a retrospective series in which 7 of 12 people reported relief from knee pain for more than six months. Their verdict: level IV and level V evidence, and "no clinical safety data were found."
- McGuire et al. found three pilot studies in humans, total, across knee pain, interstitial cystitis, and an IV safety study. Their recommendation was that BPC-157 "should be considered investigational."
Mateescu et al. put a number on the human total in 2026: fewer than 30 subjects across three uncontrolled pilot studies, none using a standardised pharmaceutical preparation, with no completed Phase 2 trial.
Cruciate ligament rupture and chronic enteropathy are common, frustrating, expensive canine problems, and the appeal of something that might accelerate recovery is obvious. But the evidence chain runs: rat tendon, to a mechanism, to a hope. It does not currently reach a dog.
The dose nobody can source
This is the part that should give any owner pause, and it is checkable in about ten minutes.
Pet-facing pages publish dosing charts with confident-looking numbers. Here is what four of them say, converted to a common basis for a 25 kg dog.
| Source | What it publishes | For a 25 kg dog | Route |
|---|---|---|---|
| iHeartDogs | "2 to 10 mcg per kilogram of body weight per day" | 50 to 250 µg daily | Subcutaneous preferred |
| The Natural Pet Doctor | 500 mcg daily for dogs 50 to 75 lb | 500 µg daily | Oral, in food |
| Truth In Peptides | 600 to 1,200 µg for a 60 lb dog, 2 to 3× weekly | ~550 to 1,100 µg per dose | Not specified |
| Veterian Key | No chart published | Not stated | Subcutaneous or oral |
The spread across these figures is more than 20-fold, 50 µg at the bottom and 1,100 µg at the top, for the same animal. They also disagree on route and on frequency, which compounds the difference again.
One of them disagrees with itself. Truth In Peptides states its basis as "~2 to 5 µg/kg based on murine studies," then publishes a chart that works out at 22 to 44 µg/kg, roughly ten times its own stated rationale. That is not a rounding difference.
Now the deeper problem. These charts describe themselves as extrapolated from rodent studies. Go and look at what those rodent studies dosed. Staresinic et al. tested BPC-157 at 10 µg/kg, 10 ng/kg and 10 pg/kg and reported all three effective. Cerovecki et al. tested 10 µg/kg and 10 ng/kg and reported both effective.
That is a million-fold range described as working. A dose-response relationship is the thing you need in order to scale a dose between species, and this literature does not contain one. There is no curve to extrapolate from, which means the confident milligram-per-kilogram figures on pet websites were not derived, they were chosen.

Oral, injected, or neither
Most pet products sell capsules or food toppers, because nobody wants to inject their dog. The evidence sits awkwardly with that.
What is known: BPC-157 is unusually stable in gastric juice, which is the honest basis for the oral interest, and Cerovecki et al. showed activity in rats given the peptide in drinking water. Mateescu et al. confirm activity has been demonstrated by oral, parenteral and topical routes in animal models.
What is not known: oral bioavailability in dogs has never been measured. The only canine absorption figure that exists is for intramuscular injection, at 45 to 51%. Subcutaneous, the route most integrative veterinarians actually use, has not been measured in dogs either.
The species gap here is not academic. The same study found IM bioavailability of 14 to 19% in rats and 45 to 51% in beagles, a three-fold species difference on the one route where both were measured. Assuming rat oral absorption carries to dogs, when the one comparable measurement differs three-fold, is not a safe assumption.
The combination question
The BPC-157 plus TB-500 pairing, sold as a "Wolverine" blend, is usually justified with a tidy division of labour: BPC-157 works locally on blood supply, TB-500 works systemically on cell migration. It is a clean story.
It was tested directly in 2026. Biçer et al. randomised 32 rats with transected and repaired Achilles tendons into four groups: control, BPC-157 alone, TB-500 alone, and both. After four weeks:
- TB-500 alone reached statistical significance on load to failure (p < 0.05) and on both histology scoring systems.
- BPC-157 alone produced numerically lower (better) scores that did not reach statistical significance on the total scores.
- The combination gave no additional benefit over either agent alone.
The authors suggest the two may converge on shared downstream pathways, and are appropriately cautious about a 32-animal exploratory study. One study does not settle a question. But it is the most direct test of the combination that exists, and it points the opposite way from the marketing.
What the safety data covers
The safety picture is genuinely reassuring as far as it goes, and it does not go as far as it is usually claimed to.
What the dog data supports: four weeks of repeated dosing in beagles, well tolerated, with one reversible creatinine change at the top dose. No genotoxicity. No embryo-fetal toxicity. Mild local irritation.
What no data covers:
| Open question | Status |
|---|---|
| Long-term dosing in dogs beyond four weeks | Not studied |
| Interaction with NSAIDs such as carprofen or meloxicam | Not studied in dogs |
| Interaction with corticosteroids | Not studied in dogs |
| Use in dogs with cancer or a cancer predisposition | Not studied; a compound promoting angiogenesis is a theoretical concern, which is why several veterinary practices screen for cancer before use |
| Purity, identity and sterility of any given product | Product-specific, and unregulated |
That last row is not a footnote. The FDA's stated concern about BPC-157 was immunogenicity for certain routes of administration and the difficulty of characterising peptide impurities, not a specific toxic effect of the molecule. The risk sits substantially in the vial rather than in the sequence. Mendias and Awan, writing in Sports Med in 2026, describe an unapproved peptide "gray market" operating outside regulatory oversight, and discuss placebo response amplified by social media as a genuine mediator of perceived peptide effects. An owner watching their own dog, hoping, without a control group, is precisely the situation in which that applies.
Legal status, stated plainly
| Body | Status |
|---|---|
| FDA, veterinary | Not approved for any use in any animal. There is no approved veterinary BPC-157 product |
| FDA, 503A compounding | Placed in Category 2 in 2023 over immunogenicity and impurity concerns. As of the FDA's 22 April 2026 update it no longer appears in Category 2 and is listed among substances nominated but withdrawn. Removal from Category 2 does not place it in Category 1, and Category 1 is what makes a substance eligible for compounding |
| USADA / WADA | Prohibited under S0, non-approved substances, at all times, in and out of competition |
| Veterinary practice | Some veterinarians use it off-label under AMDUCA. That is a practitioner's clinical judgement, not an approval |
USADA's summary is the most direct language any agency has published on it: there are "no human clinical trials establishing efficacy for the use of BPC-157 for any diagnosis or treatment," it is "unknown if there is a safe dose," and there is "no legal basis to include BPC-157 in any compounded medication."
One more thing worth knowing about the missing human evidence. USADA notes that studies "appear to have been cancelled or stopped without any published conclusions." BPC-157 completed a Phase 2 trial in ulcerative colitis as PL 14736, and the full results have never appeared in a peer-reviewed journal. A completed trial that never reported is weaker evidence than no trial at all, for reasons covered in our peptide evidence map.
What to ask a veterinarian
If your dog has an injury and you have read about this compound, the useful move is not to source a vial. It is to have a better conversation with a veterinarian, ideally one board-certified in sports medicine and rehabilitation. Questions that get you real answers:
- What is the standard of care for this specific injury, and what outcome does it produce? Surgical and rehabilitation protocols for cruciate disease and tendinopathy have actual outcome data behind them.
- If you use peptides, what have you observed, and in how many cases? A practitioner's own case series is weak evidence, and it is stronger than a website.
- What are you screening for before using it? Several practices require cancer screening first. A practitioner who screens for nothing has thought about this less.
- Where does the material come from and what documentation comes with it? Lot number, purity method, identity confirmation.
- What would make you stop? A defined endpoint separates a trial from a habit.
On sourcing, and what we can and cannot tell you
Volta supplies BPC-157 as a laboratory research material. We can tell you what is in the vial: the certificate of analysis for the lot, the purity method, the batch number printed on the label. We cannot tell you it is safe or effective in a dog, because the studies that would establish that have not been done, and a supplier claiming otherwise is describing a literature that does not exist.
The distinction matters more here than almost anywhere else. The molecule's literature and the vial's documentation are separate questions, and the credibility of one is routinely used to imply the other. For reading the underlying studies yourself, the research literacy guide covers trial design and what a preclinical result can support. The BPC-157 compound hub collects the rest of the research material, and the myths guide covers the claims that recur most often in this market.
In Stock and Shipping from British Columbia
Every vial below ships domestically within Canada with a batch-specific Certificate of Analysis. Supplied for laboratory research use only.
>99% HPLC purity standard. Read the Certificates of Analysis.
See the full Canadian catalogueFrequently Asked Questions
Is BPC-157 safe for dogs?
The only canine safety data is a four-week repeated-dose toxicity study in beagles (Xu et al., 2020), which found it well tolerated with one reversible change in creatinine at the highest dose. That is real data and it is narrow: healthy dogs, four weeks, one route, no concurrent medications. Long-term safety, interactions with NSAIDs and steroids, and use in dogs with cancer are all unstudied. Product quality is a separate and unregulated risk.
How much BPC-157 should I give my dog?
No one can answer this from published evidence, and pages that publish charts are not deriving them from canine data. The figures in circulation differ by more than 20-fold for the same dog, and the rodent studies they cite reported effects across a million-fold dose range, so there is no dose-response curve to scale from. This is a question for a veterinarian who will take clinical responsibility, not for an article.
Does BPC-157 help dogs with torn ligaments or tendon injuries?
Unknown. The supporting evidence is rodent tendon and ligament studies, which are consistent and encouraging, plus in vitro work on tendon fibroblasts. No controlled trial in dogs has been published. The most recent rat Achilles study found BPC-157 alone did not reach statistical significance on its primary histology scores, while TB-500 did.
Can I give BPC-157 orally instead of injecting?
Oral absorption has been demonstrated in rats and has never been measured in dogs. The one route measured in dogs is intramuscular, at 45 to 51% bioavailability. Given that the same study found a three-fold species difference between rats and beagles on that route, rat oral data should not be assumed to carry over.
Is BPC-157 legal for veterinary use?
It is not approved for any use in any animal. Veterinarians may use unapproved compounds off-label under AMDUCA where no approved alternative exists, which is a clinical judgement rather than an approval. The FDA flagged BPC-157 in 2023 over immunogenicity and impurity concerns, and USADA states there is no legal basis to include it in compounded medication.
Why do so many pet websites recommend it if the evidence is this thin?
Because a large, consistent animal literature reads persuasively when the species gap is left out, and because "no canine trials exist" makes a poor headline. Several of the pages most often cited on this topic, including two we reviewed, contain no citations at all. Volume of writing and weight of evidence are unrelated.
Does the BPC-157 and TB-500 blend work better than either alone?
The only direct test found it did not. Biçer et al. (2026) compared control, BPC-157, TB-500 and the combination in 32 rats with repaired Achilles tendons, and the combination conferred no additional benefit over either agent alone.
References
- Xu C, Sun L, Ren F, et al. Preclinical safety evaluation of body protective compound-157, a potential drug for treating various wounds. Regul Toxicol Pharmacol. 2020;114:104665. doi:10.1016/j.yrtph.2020.104665. PMID 32334036.
- He L, Feng D, Guo H, et al. Pharmacokinetics, distribution, metabolism, and excretion of body-protective compound 157, a potential drug for treating various wounds, in rats and dogs. Front Pharmacol. 2022;13:1026182. doi:10.3389/fphar.2022.1026182. PMID 36588717.
- Vasireddi N, Hahamyan H, Salata MJ, et al. Emerging use of BPC-157 in orthopaedic sports medicine: a systematic review. HSS J. 2025;21(4):485-495. doi:10.1177/15563316251355551. PMID 40756949.
- McGuire FP, Martinez R, Lenz A, Skinner L, Cushman DM. Regeneration or risk? A narrative review of BPC-157 for musculoskeletal healing. Curr Rev Musculoskelet Med. 2025;18(12):611-619. doi:10.1007/s12178-025-09990-7. PMID 40789979.
- Mateescu DM, Gavrilescu DM, Constantinescu FE, et al. BPC-157 as an investigational peptide therapeutic: biopharmaceutical challenges, formulation strategies, and translational development barriers. Pharmaceutics. 2026;18(5):625. doi:10.3390/pharmaceutics18050625. PMID 42198317.
- Biçer O, Adanir O, Güleryüz Y, et al. Effects of BPC-157 and TB-500 on Achilles tendon healing in rats: a histopathological and biomechanical study. Jt Dis Relat Surg. 2026;37(3):822-837. doi:10.52312/jdrs.2026.2951. PMID 42542926.
- Staresinic M, Sebecic B, Patrlj L, et al. Gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157 accelerates healing of transected rat Achilles tendon and in vitro stimulates tendocytes growth. J Orthop Res. 2003;21(6):976-983. doi:10.1016/S0736-0266(03)00110-4. PMID 14554208.
- Cerovecki T, Bojanic I, Brcic L, et al. Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 (PL 14736) improves ligament healing in the rat. J Orthop Res. 2010;28(9):1155-1161. doi:10.1002/jor.21107. PMID 20225319.
- Krivic A, Anic T, Seiwerth S, Huljev D, Sikiric P. Achilles detachment in rat and stable gastric pentadecapeptide BPC 157: promoted tendon-to-bone healing and opposed corticosteroid aggravation. J Orthop Res. 2006;24(5):982-989. doi:10.1002/jor.20096. PMID 16583442.
- Chang CH, Tsai WC, Lin MS, Hsu YH, Pang JH. The promoting effect of pentadecapeptide BPC 157 on tendon healing involves tendon outgrowth, cell survival, and cell migration. J Appl Physiol. 2011;110(3):774-780. doi:10.1152/japplphysiol.00945.2010. PMID 21030672.
- Chang CH, Tsai WC, Hsu YH, Pang JH. Pentadecapeptide BPC 157 enhances the growth hormone receptor expression in tendon fibroblasts. Molecules. 2014;19(11):19066-19077. doi:10.3390/molecules191119066. PMID 25415472.
- Mendias CL, Awan TM. Safety and efficacy of approved and unapproved peptide therapies for musculoskeletal injuries and athletic performance. Sports Med. 2026;56(8):1921-1935. doi:10.1007/s40279-026-02437-0. PMID 41966639.
- Józwiak M, Bauer M, Kamysz W, Kleczkowska P. Multifunctionality and possible medical application of the BPC 157 peptide: literature and patent review. Pharmaceuticals (Basel). 2025;18(2):185. doi:10.3390/ph18020185. PMID 40005999.
- Engdahl K, Emanuelson U, Höglund O, Bergström A, Hanson J. The epidemiology of cruciate ligament rupture in an insured Swedish dog population. Sci Rep. 2021;11(1):9546. doi:10.1038/s41598-021-88876-3. PMID 33953264.
- US Food and Drug Administration. Certain bulk drug substances for use in compounding that may present significant safety risks. Updated 22 April 2026.
- US Anti-Doping Agency. BPC-157: experimental peptide creates risk for athletes.
Research use only. Not for human or veterinary use. This article reviews published research and is not veterinary advice. Decisions about an animal's care belong with a licensed veterinarian.


















